Hampshire Cross Country League
Annual General Meeting
Friday 23 June 2017
River Park Leisure Centre, Winchester

Download minutes as Word document
Download minutes as PDF


Ken Littlejohns (Chairman); Alan Ive (Secretary); Elizabeth Flitcroft (Treasurer); Pam Rogers (Ladies' Results); Pam Bungay (Men's Results); Wendy Littlejohns (BMHAC); Ian Graham (Bournemouth); Marilyn Crocker (Victory AC); Ian Byett (BMHAC); David Haines (Fleet & Crookham); Peter Haynes (Southampton AC); Ian Banks (Hardley Runners); Tim Ford (Hedge End RC); Melanie Ford (Hedge End RC Ian Banks (Hardley Runners); Lance Nortcliff (Reading RR); Claire Seymour (Reading RR); Simon Harvey (Winchester & District); Gil McClure (Itchen Spitfires); Lucy Elliott (Winchester & District); Gareth Copping (Andover); A Copping (Andover G Copping (Andover)


John Hoare (Overton Harriers); Mick Anglim (Hardley Runners); Amy Smith (Haslemere); Sofia Sherring (Haslemere); David Vosser (Winchester & District)

The Chairman opened the meeting at 8.30pm.

Minutes of Previous Meeting

These were accepted as a true record of the meeting held on 24 June 2016.

Matters Arising

This year's award of the Popplewell Trophy will be made at the Bournemouth fixture.

Chairman's Report

The season was over shadowed by the tragic deaths of AFD runners Stacey Burrows and Lucy Pygott. A very emotional meeting was hosted by Bournemouth AC in November.

We thank Winchester & District AC, Bournemouth AC, Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC assisted by Overton Harriers, Reading AC and a special thank you to Portsmouth AC who had to rearrange the venue to Staunton Park after their booking at Queen Elizabeth Park was cancelled.

Unfortunately, Winchester & District AC have been informed that they can no longer stage cross country at Farley Mount by Hampshire CC who rent the land which has been used for some forty years. This venue and the club's enthusiasm will be hard to replace.

There were 3052 finishers over the season which is slightly down on last year.

We are pleased to say that Alton Sports have agreed to sponsor the League for a further two years. Without this support the affiliation fees would have to be considerably higher.

A special thank you must go to Richard Dean for his great work on the League web site.

I would like to thank the committee for their hard work not just for this year but also during my term as Chairman.

A vote of thanks to the Chairman was proposed by Ian Byett.

Secretary's Report

Once again it is requested that all clubs supply a new list in advance of next season's first fixture of their members likely to compete in each age group, using one of the formats supplied by Pam Rogers.

Treasurer's Report

As detailed in the accounts summary we have an income surplus this year of 608.89, and I must thank our host clubs for last season (Winchester, Basingstoke, Bournemouth, Reading and Portsmouth) for hosting.

It has been decided that we keep the three levels of affiliation and the clubs who would pay the 50 affiliation fee for the 2017/18 season would be

  • Dorchester
  • Chichester Runners

The 6 clubs with the largest runner participation will continue to pay 150 league affiliation, and are as last season

  • Aldershot, Farnham & District
  • Reading AC
  • Winchester & District
  • Southampton
  • Basingstoke & Mid Hants
  • City of Portsmouth

with all other clubs as well as any new clubs this season paying the middle band fee of 90.

Finally, I would like to thank our sponsors for this season and next Alton Sports and Dave Vosser for auditing the accounts as well as congratulate him on his first grandchild.

Acceptance was proposed by Ian Graham.

New Membership Affiliation/Resignation

There was nothing to report at this early stage.

Amendments to Constitution

  1. Proposed by the committee, to take effect for the forthcoming season:
    Currently - Rule 2: Five fixtures will be held each season, all five counting towards Team Results.
    Proposed - Rule 2: Five fixtures will be held each season, the best four performances counting towards Team Results at the end of the season.
    Currently - Rule 11: Team awards will be made to clubs competing in a total of five meetings each season.
    Proposed - Rule 11: Team awards will be made to clubs calculated on the best four performances out of five in the season.
    Carried by 9 votes to 1.
  2. Proposed by the committee, to take effect for the forthcoming season:
    If Proposal 8.1 is adopted, in the event of a cancelled fixture, the best three team performances will decide team awards, i.e. as for individuals.
    Carried by 7 votes to 1.
  3. Proposed by the committee, to take effect for the forthcoming season:
    Divisions 1 and 2 of the Male Veterans to be merged.
    Carried by 4 votes to none.
  4. Proposed by the committee, to take effect for the forthcoming season:
    In order to encourage smaller clubs, the committee shall have the power to reduce a member club's affiliation fee to the bottom tier.
    Carried unanimously.

Dates, Venues and Host Clubs for Season 2017/2018

As Farley Mount is no longer available, it is proving difficult to find a replacement.

It may be possible for Hardley Runners to arrange a course at Dibden or nearby but substantial assistance would be necessary from other clubs with marshalling.

The most practicable arrangement appears to be Queen Elizabeth Country Park for the second fixture but this is dependent on a club to host it, although the League Treasurer has provisionally reserved the venue with the park authorities.

Aldershot, Farnham & District AC have indicated they will to be willing to host the fifth fixture, using a venue that will be tried out in December for the South of the Thames Championships but this has not yet been confirmed.

Confirmed List:

Date Venue Host club
14 Oct 2017King's ParkBournemouth AC
11 Nov 2017Queen Elizabeth Country ParkTBA
2 Dec 2017PophamBasingstoke & Mid Hants AC
13 Jan 2018Prospect ParkReading AC
10 Feb 2018AldershotAldershot, Farnham & District AC

Election of Officers

The Secretary, Treasurer, Men's Results Secretary and Ladies' Results Secretary were re-elected, en bloc, as proposed by Ian Byett. As no candidates had come forward for the post, the Secretary agreed to serve as Acting Chairman pro tem. Ian Byett agreed to produce a job specification for the post.

Presentation of Senior Awards

The awards from the last season for Under 20s, Seniors and Veterans were made, generally to representatives from the recipients' clubs. However, Lance Nortcliff and Gareth Copping were there to receive their awards in person and Lucy Elliott received the Veteran Women's team award.

There was a presentation to Ken and Wendy Littlejohns, in recognition of their service to the League.

Any Other Business

There was no other business.

The meeting closed at 9.25pm.