Hampshire Cross Country League
Annual General Meeting
Friday 24 June 2016
River Park Leisure Centre, Winchester

Download minutes as Word document
Download minutes as PDF


Ken Littlejohns (Chairman); Alan Ive (Secretary/Men's Results); Elizabeth Flitcroft (Treasurer); Pam Rogers (Ladies' Results); Wendy Littlejohns (BMHAC); Ian Graham (Bournemouth); Pam Bungay (Totton RC); Marilyn Crocker (Victory AC); Mark Pauley (Poole AC); Ian Byett (BMHAC); Mick Anglim (Hardley Runners); David Haines (Fleet & Crookham); Noel O'Dowd (Eastleigh); Peter Haynes (Southampton AC); William Feline (Stubbington Green); Sean Holmes (Overton Harriers); Cliff Manton (Hedge End RC); Tim Ford (Hedge End RC); Melanie Ford (Hedge End RC); Ian Banks (Hardley Runners); ); Lance Nortcliff (Reading RR); Sarah Urwin-Mann (Reading RR); Claire Seymour (Reading RR); Mike Arnold (AFD); Matthew Arnold (AFD); Catherine Arnold (AFD); Lisa Pygott (AFD); Lucy Pygott (AFD); Matt Pygott (AFD)


Phil Budd (City of Portsmouth); David Vosser (Winchester & District); John Hoare (Overton Harriers); Mike Williams (Havant AC); Ray Stevens (Reading AC)

The Chairman opened the meeting at 7.30pm.

Minutes of Previous Meeting

These were accepted as a true record of the meeting held on 12 June 2015.

Matters Arising

This year's award of the Popplewell Trophy will be made at the Farley Mount fixture.

Chairman's Report

It is good to report that the League was again well supported by 35 Clubs with 3241 finishers but a slight decrease on last season.

I thank Alton Sports for their support which will continue for next season.

Thanks go to our host clubs:- Winchester AC, Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC, Bournemouth AC, Reading AC and Hardley Runners who stepped in at the last moment to give us five fixtures.

A special thanks most go to Mick Anglin for his hard work in organising this meeting. It is with much regret that the day and the future of this venue was spoilt by the totally inconsiderate parking on the local roads with one person's drive blocked all day when clear instructions were given of the car parking arrangements made by Mick.

I thank the committee for their hard work and especially to Alan who is stepping down from producing the Male Results for the last seven seasons but is willing to continue as League Secretary.

Thanks must also go to Richard Dean for all his work on the web site keeping everyone informed on details of venues and the Results.

Secretary's Report

The Secretary will relinquish the task of producing the men's results next season but continue as Secretary.

The Secretary thanked the clubs that had submitted lists of probable competitors (as requested last year). Although not all clubs had done so, those that did had eased the task of processing race results.

It is requested that all clubs supply a new list in advance of next season's first fixture of their members likely to compete in each age group, using one of the formats supplied by Pam Rogers.

Treasurer's Report

As detailed in the accounts summary we have an income surplus this year of 1075.91, and I must thank our host clubs for last season (Winchester, Basingstoke, Bournemouth, Reading and Hardley Runners (with assistance from other clubs)) for not only hosting but also keeping costs very similar to last year.

One concern I do have is that host clubs provide dedicated First Aid Cover rather than the first aider doubling up with another role on the day. If this proves a little more expensive then to my mind that is the cost we have to pay.

After consideration by the committee it has been decided to raise the cap on the Winchester fixture to 700, bearing in mind that this has been at 650 for a number of years and it costs the club to host for us.

It has also been decided that we keep the three levels of affiliation and the clubs who would pay the 50 affiliation fee for the 2016/17 season would be:-

  • Dorchester
  • Lordshill Road Runners

The 6 clubs with the largest runner participation will continue to pay 150 league affiliation, and are as last season

  • Aldershot, Farnham & District
  • Reading AC
  • Winchester & District
  • Southampton
  • Basingstoke & Mid Hants
  • City of Portsmouth

with all other clubs as well as any new clubs this season paying the middle band fee of 90.

Finally I would like to thank Dave Vosser for auditing the accounts and our sponsors for this season and next Alton Sports.

New Membership Affiliation/Resignation

There was nothing to report at this early stage.

Amendments to Constitution

None proposed.

Dates, Venues and Host Clubs for Season 2015/2016

Confirmed List:

Date Venue Host club
15 Oct 2016Farley MountWinchester & District AC
12 Nov 2016King's ParkBournemouth AC
3 Dec 2016PophamBasingstoke & Mid Hants AC
14 Jan 2017Prospect ParkReading AC
11 Feb 2017TBATBA

Efforts are in progress by City of Portsmouth AC to organise the final fixture at Queen Elizabeth Country Park.

Election of Officers

The Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Ladies' Secretary were re-elected, en bloc. Pam Bungay was elected as Men's Results Secretary.

Presentation of Senior Awards

The awards from the last season for Under 20s, Seniors and Veterans were made, generally to representatives from the recipients' clubs. However, Matthew Arnold, Lance Nortcliff, Lucy Pygott and Sarah Urwin-Mann were there to receive their awards in person.

Any Other Business

There was discussion over the need for two divisions in the Veteran Men, occasioned by Poole AC (Division 2) beating Winchester (Division 1).

In the light of Poole AC's outstanding performance, the committee had decided to award team medals to Poole AC, whereas usually there would be none for Division 2.

The meeting closed at 8.12pm.